St. Johns Cultural Council opens applications for ROWITA

Each year, the St. Johns Cultural Council recognizes women who have profoundly influenced the artistic environment of St. Johns County with the Dr. Gail Pflaster ROWITA (“Recognition of Outstanding Women in the Arts”) Awards. Community members are encouraged to submit nominations from women who have made a significant contribution to the arts in St. Johns County through their work, leadership and philanthropic support.

According to Christina Parrish Stone, executive director of the Cultural Council, the impact of a candidate on the cultural community is the most important criterion in determining final selections.

“Women as visual, literary and performance artists, educators, presenters and philanthropic supporters are at the heart of our regional arts community. They are eligible for the award, as are past nominees who were not selected, ”Stone said.

Applications can be submitted electronically until Friday, December 31.

Proposers must submit information for each candidate, including contact information, website (if applicable), number of years the candidate has resided in St. Johns County, professional photo, professional biographies and personal, supporting stories and documents, as well as additional information. For assistance with the submission, call (904) 808-7330 or email Applications can be sent by email with attachments in PDF, Word or JPG formats.

Following:Fort Mose Jazz and Blues Series to host the legendary Count Basie Orchestra and more

Following:Luminaria, animal adoptions, an illuminated lighthouse – What to do around the beaches

The winners will be selected by a panel of community members in January 2022 and ROWITA’s annual celebration will take place in March 2022.

Past winners to be recognized at the March event include arts professionals from St. Johns County, Roxanne Horvath, architect and preservation artist; Leslee Keys, a leader in the conservation of historical and architectural resources; Carole Prior, drama teacher, teacher, artist, screenwriter and director; Leslie Robison, Kenan Distinguished Associate Professor of Liberal Art Education at Flagler College and Karla Wagner, film enthusiast and former owner of Corazon Cinema and Café.

The St. Johns Cultural Council supports the development of arts institutions, community arts partners, cultural programs and activities and audiences in St. Johns County. Professional development programs help local artists and arts organizations obtain grants and develop their capacities that help develop, market and promote local programs and events. Visit for more information.

The Cultural Council receives $ 25,000 in COVID funding

Florida Humanities, the state-wide nonprofit affiliate of the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH), awarded the St. Johns Cultural Council a $ 25,000 overhead grant to support help her recover from the economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Other local nonprofits recognized by NEH include Fort Mose Historical Society, Friends of Lincolnville, Inc., St. Augustine Film Society, St. Augustine Historical Society, and Ximenez-Fatio House Museum. Grants totaled over $ 100,000 for recipients in St. Johns County.

The Cultural Council was one of 129 organizations in Florida that received ARP funding. The grants are intended to meet immediate operational needs so that organizations remain viable and maintain the delivery of public humanities programs and resources in their communities. Florida Humanities received 188 requests for ARP funding, with nonprofits requesting the most funds for personnel and utilities.

James C. Tibbs